FACEBOOK UPDATE

Courtesy of the Washington Post

Courtesy of the Washington Post

Facebook has a “Privacy Checkup” link to make sure your posts are shared only where you want them shared.

Start off by clicking the image of a lock next to the globe in the upper right corner of the home page. Privacy Checkup then shows you how to control who sees your posts: whether the whole world, your friends, only close friends, or a list you’ve created – presumably the fellow members of your secret society.  .

Step two: Control the apps that post on your behalf. When we looked, we had close to hundred apps we didn’t remember adding to Facebook. Most wouldn’t automatically post anything on our behalf, but more than a dozen displayed our activities right up there for the world to see. Hello out there in Patagonia.

Another new Facebook feature is the ability to save articles, videos or comments to view later. Just click the drop down arrow in the upper right corner of a post and choose “save.” Then,  in the upper left corner of the Facebook page, click “saved” to view those items. If you’re on a phone or tablet, click “more.”

Comments are closed.